PROFILE: EMILY BARTLEY (LENG)

Emily first joined us at BHCS in 1999 in Year 2, but had to leave shortly after. A few years later, she rejoined us in 2004 for Secondary. Emily left BHCS at the Year 9 to go to Wheelers Hill Secondary for Year 10 and 11. After this she moved to Chisholm TAFE in Dandenong to complete Year 12 (2009).

Emily met the love of her life when she was 17, John Bartley. Emily and John have two kids together – Rachel (now 4 years old) and Jacob (now 2 years old).

They married this year, on March 5th (2015) at the Chateau Wyuna by 12270297_10153342945049538_1490051244_n.jpgPs Ruth Swift from the.Church@1330. Emily says, “The wedding was perfect! (Very, very crazy in the morning with 15 women rushing around my house, but it was fun!) I wish I could go back and do it again and again. I was so happy that my sister Sarah could be my bridesmaid and walk down the aisle, my son being page boy and my daughter flower girl, they looked (well everyone in the bridal party looked) absolutely gorgeous!”

Emily and John had the opportunity to go to Surfers Paradise for their honeymoon – which they jam packed with as many activities as they could! “Being parents to little children, the likelihood of going on adventures and dreamy holidays are very few and very far between; so we made the most of it. Among seeing the theme parks and attractions, lazing on the beach, etc., we stayed at the Soul Hotel and ate at its two-hatted restaurant, went on a private horse ride and cantered on the beach, and went skydiving! Sky diving was the most thrilling, exciting thing I have ever done and I can not wait to acquire my skydiving licence!”

Since she finished School, Emily has completed a Cert IV in Aged Care, as well as a Cert IV in Disability work. She works full time in a German Aged Care Home, as a PCA (Personal Care Assistant) in the Dementia ward. She says she could talk for hours about her passion for Aged Care.

Emily hopes to apply for Deakin to further her studies and undertake a double degree in a Bachelor of Nursing/Psychological Science. Doing this will open the door to many more job opportunities and possibilities in Mental Health Rehabilitation, Youth work, Careers Counselling, Community Development, Work/Life Counselling, etc.

She says, “The life I have led and what I have achieved so far is beyond what I could have imaged when I was 18. I wasn’t thinking of my future much back then, but that all changed when I became pregnant to my daughter at 19 and my life has seemed to be in 6th gear ever since.”

Since she left BHCS, Emily has not kept in touch with many people, but over the years it has been a pleasure bumping into some friendly faces. Once Emily and John’s children reach school age, their desire is to send them to BHCS.

Emily’s favourite experience at BHCS was the Year 9 Drama class and productions – “the hustle and bustle getting everyone ready on time, and the excitement being on stage. I remember the night of our “Dream” production (Wakakirri) and being crouched under the table (which was made into a bed) on stage with Verity and Matthew – all feeling nerves and excited all at once waiting for the curtains to be drawn and the music starting…’1, 2, 3, here we go!’ That was a great night.” As well as these wonderful memories, Emily misses the school grounds, the teachers and of course her friendship group.

The words of advice Emily leaves with us is from Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

 

Do you have a story you’d like to share? Have you stepped into an exciting career? Got kids? Married? We would love to hear from you! Shoot us an inbox to our alumni facebook page!

