PROFILE: TAYLOR VAN DEN HEEVER (NUGENT)

Taylor joined us at BHCS in Year 7 in 2007. She left shortly after Year 11 began in 2011, and has a wonderful story of faith to tell…

“I began Year 11, but unfortunately left halfway through due to suffering depression and other health problems. My mental and physical health was preventing me from getting in the right head space and I was struggling with my faith.

A few months after leaving school I went on a family holiday to the Gold Coast. While spending the day at Movie World, my sister and I met my future husband on a carousel. He worked at the theme park and we instantly hit it off. While we were on the carousel, he told me that I wasn’t allowed off the ride until I agreed to go on a date with him. Later that night, we went out to the movies and joined my family in a game of bowling. Unfortunately, the next day was the day we flew back home to Melbourne. He came and said goodbye before our flight and told me he wasn’t going to let me be the girl that got away.daee13e9-a7a7-4df6-aa27-620c36953e38

We got engaged just after my 18th birthday and married on our 3rd anniversary. He helped
and supported me through my depression and helped me get back on track with God. I was lucky to have found a man who treats me with respect and shares the same faith and values as I do.

However, 8 months before our wedding I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) which causes severe weight gain, diabetes, liver disease, kidney failure, infertility, sleep apnea, anxiety, depression, heart conditions and much more. Instead of being able to enjoy wedding planning I was spending time going to doctors appointments, having tests, taking different kinds of medication and getting sick.

On November 30th, 2015 I had Gastric Sleeve surgery. My doctors informed me that I really didn’t have a choice. It was my last option as my health was deteriorating very quickly and it was almost too late. It has been one of the hardest things I’ve been through, and it won’t be the last surgery I have to address my health problems, but it was the beginning.

When I first met my husband I was in a very dark place. I could never look into my future because I honestly didn’t think I had one. Since meeting him four and a half years ago, I’ve been through a great amount of difficulties, but I have had some incredible blessings as well. I have traveled around New Zealand, South Africa, Vanuatu, and The USA, with plans this year of travelling to The USA again, as well as Canada and Mexico. I have grown a whole new relationship with God, I have gotten a lot closer to my family, I have begun my journey to health and I have some new career opportunities in the travel industry on the horizon.

When I thought God had turned his back on me, I didn’t realise that he was actually working on a wonderful plan for me.”

We wish Taylor and her husband all the best in their future, and will continue to prayer for her health. We are blessed to have your share your faith journey with us!

 

Do you have a story you’d like to share? Have you stepped into an exciting career? Got kids? Married? We would love to hear from you! Shoot us an inbox to our alumni facebook page!

