PROFILE: KAITLIN RAPECIS

Kaitlin began her journey at BHCS in 2010 when she moved from Mater Christi. She graduated from Year 12 three years ago now.

“I took a gap year after graduating, and did a bit of travel to China and Southeast Asia. I’ve eating hoisin marinated duck tongue on the streets of Shanghai, shortly after being proposed to by a stranger because of my pale skin #whitelyf. Then the year after that, I started studying Secondary Teaching at Deakin. It didn’t take me long to figure out that I was definitely in the wrong place, and after a year of study I deferred my course and started searching for full-time work.

I now work at Reform Clothing – a custom year 12 garments company – as a sales
development rep, and I absolutely love it. I wouldn’t have seen myself in the sales industry, in fact I didn’t really know where I’d see myself when I was in my last year of high school.”

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Kaitlin is still living locally and loves serving in her church. She also has a boyfriend and in her words “there are notions towards the future directed actions on the table.” Ooh… exciting!

Kaitlin goes to church with a few friends from school, and outside of church there’s a couple who still remain her closest friends.

Her favourite school memory is “Year 12 History with Mr. Smith. We were in the middle of a test, and he randomly got up and left the room. We had no idea where he went and he was gone for a good 10-15 minutes. Upon his return he was holding a platter with water crackers and cheese. He was startled to see all of us staring at him in utter confusion. Innocently he held up the plate and said: “I thought you guys might be hungry.””

Most of all, Kaitlin would say she misses the teachers, as well as the guys and girls that she does not see anymore because life’s journeys have caused their paths to part.

We love Kaitlin’s words of advice:

So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.” – Hebrews 10:35-36

